January is School Board Recognition Month

shaggerty News

Tolles is celebrating School Board Recognition Month in January 2018 to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our society.

School Board Recognition Month honors the members of Ohio’s more than 700 city, exempted village, local and joint vocational boards of education and educational service centers governing boards for their commitment to providing quality public education to Ohio’s school children. Tolles Career and Technical Center is joining with other districts throughout the state to recognize the important contributions school board members make to their communities.

“Ohioans benefit every day from the dedicated energies and countless hours devoted by a group of more than 3,400 men and women across the state,” according to the Ohio School Boards Association.  

“These public servants are elected to serve by local citizens and receive little compensation for their tireless efforts. These men and women are the local school board members of Ohio.

“These people unselfishly contribute their time and talents toward the advancement of public education. They represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision-making in education. Even though we are making a special effort during January to show appreciation to our school board members, we recognize their contributions reflect a year-round commitment on their part.

“They are dedicated individuals who are committed to the continuing success of our schools and students.”

The men and women serving Tolles who represent the associate school communities served by the career and technical center are: Tom Bichsel, Jonathan Alder; Curtis Brooks, London City; David Harper, Jefferson Local; Jaynie Lambert, Fairbanks; Doug Maggied, Hilliard City; Mark Mason, Madison-Plains; and Tom Irelan, Dublin City.

Tolles will honor the school board members with a dinner in their restaurant, Saffron, prepared by students in the culinary arts program on January 18, 2018.